As Salaam Alaikum,

As I’ve briefly mentioned in my last post, I’m going to be 30 in a few years. I started thinking, wouldn’t it be great if I was in the best shape of my life at 30?Β It is certainly possible: I’m still in good health, my babies have grown up a little where I can take more time for myself, and my husband is also interested in losing weight himself.

I reached my heaviest weight last month, at 246 pounds. Now I’m not going to say I’m embarrassed by my weight or feel disgusting or like a slob. I cook for my family: mostly Indian cuisine, sometimes some good old comfort foods like fried potatoes and gravy or home made burritos. I don’t drink soda unless we go out to a nice restaurant dinner, which isn’t often enough πŸ˜‰. I drink water and green tea, I had quit coffee and chai after I dealt with frequent headaches.

When I was in my teens I discovered Joy Nash, a brilliant woman who is not ashamed of her size. She, and others, helped me think about loving myself, not waiting till I’m thin to do so.

I will say that I have been overweight more than 2/3rds of my life: I was wearing my dads size 33 jeans when I was 11 or so; I was weighing in at the 170s in high school, yes I was bullied; and slowly my weight kept going up as I got older. Unlike many women, I tend to lose weight during pregnancy, simply by being pregnant, and only gained weight in the third trimester – all lost immediately after birth. Yeah,be jealous 😎.

I believe the main problem is my metabolism. I have a very difficult time losing weight by diet.

So the plan is to do something I’ve never done, exercise hard and get in shape. And not by doing what I hate. I’m not the type who likes to walk or run for hours at the gym. My choice is home workout DVDs. I’m starting with a dance-type, but there are a lot of different workout DVDs that can spark an interest in the non-gym type.

I started with 30 min cardio workout 3-5 times a week, now my cardio is 60 mins each time, and I’m trying the more intense workouts as well, loosely basing my workouts on the suggested workout calendar the workout DVD provides. I’m a beginner and have low stamina, so it is motivating to be able to do a workout better and better each time, then try something new to kick your butt after you get comfortable.

Now to my long term goals

  1. Lose 100lbs, then
  2. Start weight training and gain muscle (the only thing I like at the gym)
  3. Be more fit at 30 than I ever was!

Insha Allah.

I’m in my second month and have lost 10lbs, God willing it will continue.

I’d love to hear from everyone about their experience with self image, finding yourself, or losing weight/getting in shape! πŸ‘

P.S. I love this woman’s tips on what to keep in mind in your weight loss journey.

