Posted in Crochet, Techniques

How I hold my yarn

As Salaam Alaikum,

Even more debatable than the “knife vs pencil” crochet hook holds, it’s how you hold your yarn in your tension hand. 

I prefer the way I’m doing now, shown in picture. Which is wrapping the yarn around my hand and wrist a few times, I feel in control of the yarn feed and I can choose to crochet tight (do an extra wrap around index finger) or loose. I hold the work with my second finger and thumb. 

What ways do you like to wrap yarn around your tension hand? 

  

Author:

I am an ordinary American Muslim. Mother of two. My hobbies are crocheting, sewing and drawing. I like to think that I am funny, but that may just be my biased opinion.

One thought on “How I hold my yarn

  1. Wow, that yarn hold is amazing! It’s so complex I’d probably tie myself in knots. XD I usually just wrap my yarn around my pinky finger, though this has it’s drawbacks, I’ve been known to get yarn burn from things like cotton and when it’s as hot as it’s been acrylic starts to stick and it gets tricky to work with for long periods of time. I should probably work on an alternate tension technique for when my usual just isn’t cutting it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

