Posted in Crochet

Ramadan Mubarak!

As Salaam Akaikum, Going to make my first post a greeting for our wonderful month of Ramadan! I had recently taken a hiatus of all things crafty (about a six month hiatus) and this wonderful month has inspired me to start crafting again!

note: not mine

What better way to celebrate Ramadan than to crochet a kufi (topi/prayer cap)!  Yes, making the best of being the only female of the house and making some lovely kufis(kufies?) for my sons.  The first task was to look for some crochet kufi patterns, which didn’t turn out to be a whole lot. So instead I resolved to making one of my own – what can possibly go wrong??  

I made a great start with the crown of the cap..   Then frogged (ripped it out) it..  And again…       Then spent an unholy amount of time on the sides of it, then frogged again until I came up with this…  I’ll be revealing the rest of the design soon.. But right now me and this cap are not talking to each other..  To be continued (insha’Allah)….

Author:

I am an ordinary American Muslim. Mother of two. My hobbies are crocheting, sewing and drawing. I like to think that I am funny, but that may just be my biased opinion.

Leave a Reply

